More on the Subject of “Breath”–“Diamonds and Rust”

Joan Baez’s song “Diamonds and Rust” is on the playlist for Holding Breath for many reasons (one of them simply being that it’s a ridiculously beautiful song), but I was thinking about it again last night when I realized that I’d left out the “Holding Breath” chapter in the first edition of my memoir (see previous post).  Whenever I hear the lines about “snow in your hair,” and the mingling of breath in the cold air, I see a picture in my mind of walking through the Lower East Side with David on a snowy winter day, holding his hand, perhaps as we’re on our way back to his apartment from the little Dominican restaurant on Essex street, or from picking up our Christmas tree.

Here’s the song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sIiO7fiNMgA

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

Agape Editions

We contain multitudes.

Andrea Blythe

Speculative Poetry and Fiction

Zevstar

All Content Copyrighted. All Rights Reserved.

VossNetBlog

Where Soul Meets Body

Veronica Golos, Poet

Exploring Content & Form

Mortimer George Creations

a gentleman's thoughts, style and life

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME